FUNAAB Clocks 25, Begins Celebrations

The Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta (FUNAAB) is 25. She clocked 25 on January 1, 2013 amid historical giant strides that justified the rationale behind its establishment.

It was established on January 1, 1988 by the Federal Government when four Universities of Technology, earlier merged in 1984, were demerged. This led to the creation of the first two Universities of Agriculture in Abeokuta and Makurdi.

On the same date, Professor Nurudeen Olorun-Nimbe Adedipe was appointed the pioneer Vice-Chancellor of the University. Professor Adedipe officially assumed duty on January 28, 1988. For many years the date which Professor Adedipe assumed duty was wrongly adopted as the foundation day of the University. Following a revisit to the instrument setting up the University, a Council decision at its 53rd Statutory meeting in June 2010 reverted the foundation date to January 1st 1988 as prescribed by the law which established the University.

Prior to the emergence of UNAAB, the Federal Government had established the Federal University of Technology, Abeokuta (FUTAB) in 1983. Then, in 1984, it was merged with the University of Lagos and had its name changed to the College of Science and Technology, Abeokuta (COSTAB), before the demerger of January, 1988.

The University started off from the old Campus of Abeokuta Grammar School, Isale-Igbein near the city centre. It completed its movement to its Permanent Site along Alabata Road in 1997, in what has been termed the fastest pace of Permanent Site development in the history of Nigerian University System.

At the initial stage, five Colleges were introduced in the University in October 1988 as follows:

* College of Agricultural Management, Rural Development and Studies (COLAMRUCS)

*  College of Animal Science and Livestock Production (COLANIM)

* College of Environmental Resources Management (COLERM)

* College of Natural Sciences (COLNAS)

*  College of Plant Science and Crop Production (COLPLANT)

Two additional Colleges, College of Engineering (COLENG) and College of Veterinary Medicine (COLVET) were introduced in March, 2002. During 2008/2009 session, the College of Agricultural Management, Rural Development and Consumer Studies was split into two with two new Colleges emerging as follows:

* College of Food Science and Human Ecology (COLFHEC)

* College of Agricultural Management and Rural Development (COLAMRUD)

Also, the College of Management Sciences (COLMAS) was introduced in the 2010/2011 session.


The first Council was constituted on May 18, 1989 under the chairmanship of Alhaji Muhammadu Jega, former Head of Service and Secretary to the Sokoto State Government. On September 1, 1990, the Council was reconstituted with some changes for 5 years with Alhaji Muhammadu Jega retained as Chairman. The second Governing Council was constituted in 2000 for five years, with Alhaji Sanni Bagiwa Idris as Chairman. The third Council came on board in 2005 and was dissolved in November, 2007 by the Federal Government. Elder Brigadier General (Rtd.) Bassey Asuquo, a one-time Military Administrator of Kogi, Edo and Delta States respectively, was the Chairman. The fourth council was constituted in January 2009 with Mr. Raphael Oluwole Osayameh as Chairman and immediate past Pro-Chancellor. Presently, Chief Lawrence Ayinde Osayemi is the Pro-Chancellor & Chairman of Council.


Since inception, UNAAB has had three Chancellors. They are His Royal Highness Alhaji Kabir Umar, the Emir of Katagum in Bauchi State. He was appointed in 1989. Next was His Royal Highness Oba Adeyinka Oyekan, the Oba of Lagos (now late). He served for a brief period from 2001-2003. The current Chancellor is His Royal Majesty, Obi (Prof.) Joseph Chike Edozien, the Asagba of Asaba in Delta State, a renowned and retired Professor of Medicine of the University of Ibadan.


The foundation Vice-Chancellor was Professor Nurudeen Adedipe, who served for two terms of four years each: January 8, 1988 to December 31 1991 and January 1, 1992 to December 31, 1995.

The second Vice-Chancellor was Professor Julius Amioba Okojie, who acted from January 1, 1996 till September 2, 1996 when he became a substantive Vice-Chancellor and served for one term of five year which ended on 31st August,. 2001.

The third Vice-Chancellor was Professor Israel Folorunso Adu, who served from September 1, 2001 to August 31, 2006.

Professor Ishola Adamson acted as Vice-Chancellor from September 1, 2006 till May 23, 2007.

The fourth Vice-Chancellor was Professor Oluwafemi Olaiya Balogun who served from May 24, 2007 till May 23, 2012.

The fifth and current Vice-Chancellor was appointed in person of Professor Olusola Bandele Oyewole.


UNAAB has had Eleven Deputy Vice-Chancellors to date. They are:

(i) Professor G. M. Babatunde: 1st September, 1994.

(ii) Professor Julius Okojie: 1st October, 1994 to 31st December, 1995.

(iii) Professor I. F. Adu: December, 2000 (2 terms)

(iv) Professor T.O. Tayo: 7th December, 2000 to 6th December, 2004 (2 terms)

(v) Professor A.R.T. Solarin: 7th December, 2004 to 6th December, 2006.

(vi) Professor I.C. Eromosele, DVC (Academic): 14th September, 2007 to 17th September, 2009.

(vii) Professor O.J. Ariyo, DVC (Development): 14th September, 2007 to 17th September, 2009.

(viii) Professor S.T.O Lagoke, DVC (Development): 18th September, 2009 to 17th September, 2011.

(ix) Professor C.F.I Onwuka, DVC (Academic): 18th September, 2009 to 17th September, 2011.

(xi) Professor T.A. Arowolo, DVC (Academic): 18th September, 2011 to date.

(xi) Professor F.K. Salako, DVC (Development): 18th September, 2011 to date.

While the first five were the only Deputy Vice-Chancellors during their respective tenures, Professors Eromosele and Ariyo were appointed simultaneously as the first set of two Deputy Vice-Chancellors for the University, an initiative of the Professor O.O. Balogun administration.


FUNAAB has had three Registrars, three Bursars and two University Librarians to date, respectively. Mrs. C.A. Soboyejo was the first Registrar, from 1st October, 1989 to 30th June, 1998. She was succeeded by Mr. A. Oyerinde, who acted as Registrar from June 1998 till 19th September, 2000 before he became the substantive Registrar on 20th September, 2000 till his retirement in 2011. Mr. O.A. Adeboye and Mrs. C.B. Kuforiji acted as Registrar for some months after Mr. Oyerinde's retirement.

The Present Registrar is Mr. Mathew Odunlade Ayoola.

Mr. S.T. Osamiluyi, the first Bursar, served from 1st October, 1989 to 17th October, 1999. He was succeeded by Rev. E.A. A8iya e, retiresamilsuccechaefrom May 24, 2007 till Mar, 1999. He was succeeded by Rev. E.A. A8iya e, retiresamilsuccechaefronmNurudeen Olorun-Nimbe Adedipe was appointed the pioDlsuT.Mrst fisu succeeded begistrar, from 1st Onment. Elder Br>The rar rst se Mar,0 befoded gbirst Bursar, served from 1st October, 1989 to 17th Oct-spaA8iya e,egistrar, from 1st Onar Dlsu(reme) M I.katst fiaolleges were introduced in the University in OctobeMeanwve t succeegistrar, frespunveid Maest 25ke,Angistra andLp>pan “Clockeardesig< oe and Techdef yicineine of ngistra andat-rnar

< fouFFICERSunique pymbol The foundation Vicv. E.A. 25ke,Angistra anlleges were introduced in the University in OctobeAwnmenultanted wiLp>

  • On the(Gyeje), Jubid he(Siltiouring c

    Red)”lleges wer legettp:

  • /header>er>er>er>ews// "> lished-i> /headlished-i> /k content-tesectiidth: 440eng /header>ader>