Prof. SANNI, Lateef Oladimeji

Degree: B.Sc., M.Sc., Ph.D.
Email Address:
Telephone Number: +2348033469882
Department: Food Science & Technology
Academic Rank: Professor

Prof. Lateef Oladimeji SANNI
graduated from the University of Agriculture, Abeokuta with Bachelor of Science degree; Second Class Upper Division in the Department of Food Science and Technology in 1990. I obtained Master and Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) Degrees at the Department of Food Technology, University of Ibadan in February, 1993 and April, 1999 respectively.
I joined the University of Agriculture, Abeokuta (UNAAB) in 1993 as Assistant Lecturer and became Professor of Food Science and Technology in 2008. I have published 72 Technical Journal articles; 25 Books, and 26 Conference proceedings.
I am the immediate past Head of Department of Food Science and Technology and immediate past Director of A.G. Leventis Memorial Centre for Learning (LEMCEL), University of Agriculture, Abeokuta. I have been an editorial board member of the International Journal of Food Science and Technology since 2005.
I was the principal Investigator, Food Developers Initiative sponsored by Association of African Universities in Nigeria, Benin and Sierra Leone since 2008-2010 and Food Science and Nutrition Network in West Africa, March 2010-Aug 2011 under the sponsorship of Association of African Universities/UK DFID.
I also serve as Country Manager for Nigeria in a five-Country project; Cassava: Adding Value for Africa (C: AVA), from May 2008 till date; European union-African Caribbean Pacific (EU-ACP) Science Technology Capacity Building Project, Nov 2009 till October, 2012 in collaboration with the Greenwich University/Natural Resources Institute, Chatham and Project Coordinator, Cassava Value Chain Development project in West Africa, covering Nigeria, Sierra Leone, Benin Republic; a three-year project, sponsored by the Common Fund for Commodities from August 2008 – March, 2012 and implemented by the International Institute of Tropical Agriculture, Ibadan. Nigeria. I am a professional fellow and National President of the Nigerian Institute of Food Science and Technology, October 2012 till date. I am also a Honorary Fellow of the Federal Institute of Industrial Research Oshodi since December 2009 till date.
I won the 2008 Consultative Group of International Agricultural Research (CGIAR) Award Regional Technology Development in Sub Saharan Africa (; Outstanding Award-2006 Academic Accomplishment by Junior Chambers International, Abeokuta, Gateway Hotel, Abeokuta, Nigeria and the best Oral Presenter Award at the 7th African Crops Science Conference organized by African Crops Science Society, Entebbe, Uganda, 5-9 December 2005. I received an outstanding Service Award (2001), in recognition of my contribution as Chairman of a Subcommittee of the local organizing Committee (LOC), of the 5th African Crop Science Conference held at Lagos Nigeria from 21-26 October 2001.
I am also the Convocation representative on Council of the Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta, Nigeria, July 2010 till date. I became President, International Society of Tropical Root Crops, African Branch, October 2013 till date, 1st Vice President, International Society for Tropical Root Crops, 2011 to 2012, Secretary/Treasurer, ISTRC, Sept 2012 till date. I won Research Productivity Award (Senior Academic Category) in January 2011 and Most Outstanding International Ambassador in January 2012 of the Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta. I am a Scientific and Technical Committee member of the Council of Agricultural Forum in West Africa and Editorial Board Member of the International Journal of Food Science and Technology.


Last Updated on April 12, 2019 by FUNAAB

Leave a Reply