The Centre for Community-Based Farming Scheme (COBFAS) was established on December 17, 2010 by the University’s Governing Council during its 65th Statutory meeting to coordinate the implementation of the One Year Farm Practical Programme for the Bachelor of Agriculture Degree candidates at the penultimate year of their programme. This action makes the University to be one of the first to implement the directive of the Federal Government to scale up the ‘hitherto’ six months internship programme to one year.

Under the leadership of the pioneer Director, Professor F. K. Salako (now Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Development), the Centre made tremendous progress and great positive impact between March 21 and September 19, 2011 particularly in the following areas:

1) Creation of mutual and concrete relationship with all the four host communities (Isaga-Orile, Iwoye-Ketu, Ode-Lemo, and Odogbolu)
2) Acquisition of 20 – 50 ha of accessible land freely donated by the host communities
3) Renting office and student accommodations for effective take off of the programme
4) Test running the scheme with the 2010/2011 students (800) meant to be the last set to undertake the six months programme
5) Establishment of at least 5 ha crop farms in all COBFAS location
6) Initiation of Memorandum of Understanding
7) Employment opportunities for youths of the communities
8) Advocacy on best agricultural practices among host communities
9) Improvement of rural economies
10) Increased agricultural output in the communities

Implementation of the One Year Farm Practical Programme
Having effectively test run the Scheme, COBFAS is set for fully implementation of the One Year Programme using the New Curriculum for B. Agric. Programme as contained in pages 134 – 137 of the University Calendar (2009 -2012) Book. Orientation was organized for prospective trainees for the 2011/2012 session between d for October 10 and 14, 2011 to further educate the candidates on course registration and programme plans.
In this new programmme students’ practical training is designed around three enterprise categories which include Crop, Animal and Service enterprise. Students in COLPLANT are expected to be trained in two enterprises in from Plantation, Arable or Horticultural Crop Production Techniques and one enterprise from Ruminant Animal Production Techniques, Monogastric Animals Production or Micro-Livestock & Fish Production Techniques.
Similarly, COLAMIN students would be trained in two enterprises from Ruminants, Monogastric and Micro-Livestock and one enterprise from Plantation, Arable and Horticultural Crop Production Techniques. In both Crop and Animal enterprises, candidates will undertake skills’ and entrepreneurial trainings in service enterprises such as Farm Management, Farm Records, Agricultural Accounting, Extension Practices, Farm Designs, Surveys & Land Use Planning, Farm Mechanisation & Workshop Practical, Agricultural Meteorology, and Organic Agriculture. COLAMRUD candidates will have to be divided into Crop and Animal enterprises since they can function effectively in either of the agricultural production enterprise.

Last Updated on October 20, 2011 by admin

Leave a Reply