Night of Excellence: FUNAAB Honours Deserving Staff, Students

L-R: The Agura of Gbagura, HRM Halidu Laloko; the Alake of Egbaland, HRM Adedotun Gbadebo; the Osile of Oke-Ona, Egba, HRM Adedapo Tejuoso; FUNAAB VC, Prof. Oluwafemi Balogun and his wife, Prof. Elizabeth Balogun at FUNAAB’s 3rd Night of Excellence.


Commitment and dedication were celebrated on Sunday, January 1, 2012 as the University presented meritorious Award of Excellence to its First Class graduates and students, as well as Productivity Awards to deserving members of staff.
Tagged 2011/2012 FUNAAB’s Third Night of Excellence, the event was held at the Jubilee Multi-purpose Hall, Bishop’s Court, Onikolobo, where Awardees took turn to receive their cash prizes and prizes from eminent personalities, who graced the occasion.
The Awardees in the staff category were Professor Oduguwa, Olutosin Oluseyi (Research Productivity Award, Senior Academic Staff Category), Dr. Mewomo, Oluwatosin Tope (Research Productivity Award, Junior Academic Staff Category).
The who-is-who in FUNAAB temporarily shifted base to the venue as Principal Officers, Deans, Directors, Heads of Departments/Units, Coordinators among others graced the occasion, with their spouse.
Also in attendance were some past Deputy Vice-Chancellors, Bursar and University Librarian.
Speaking at the occasion, the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Oluwafemi Olaiya Balogun expressed optimism that FUNAAB would continue to “raise the bar” of excellence, for which it has now become synonymous with.
Professor Balogun, who pointed out that the 2011/2012 Night of Excellence would be the last he would organize as the Vice-Chancellor of the University charged members of staff, students and alumni not to be contented with their present level of success.
According to him, “I urge all stakeholders to join forces in ensuring that FUNAAB continues to stand out and distinguish itself in all areas of academic, administrative and social endeavours”.
The Vice-Chancellor expressed appreciation to the entire University community for their contributions, which he stated, had materialized in the improved rating and ranking of FUNAAB at national and international levels, while declaring that “the Night of Excellence has come to symbolize the celebration of courage, hardwork, diligence, initiative and industry, among all segments of the University community”.
Professor Balogun disclosed that just recently, the University bagged the prestigious Lé Matinal Education Excellence Award as the Best University of Agriculture in Africa, in the Mauritius Island while the last World Universities Webometrics Ranking rated FUNAAB as seventh in Nigeria and 60th in Africa.
The Vice-Chancellor, however, expressed gratitude to the guests present at the occasion for their consistent support of the University’s goals and aspirations for excellence and most especially, for gracing the occasion, which was scheduled for the first day of January, to mark the Foundation Day and the Twenty-Fourth anniversary of the establishment of the Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta.
Dignitaries present at the ceremony included the Alake and Paramount Ruler of Egbaland, Oba Adedotun Aremu Gbadebo, Okukenu IV; the Osile of Oke-Ona, Egba, Oba Adedapo Tejuoso; the Agura of Gbagura, Oba Halidu Laloko and the Olowu of Owu, Oba Adegboyega Dosumu, who was represented by Chief Olufemi Sodeinde.
Also present was the immediate past Head of the Civil Service of the Federation, Professor Oladapo Afolabi, the Head of Service, Ogun State, Mrs. Modupe Adekunle, the Catholic Bishop of Abeokuta Diocese, Most Rev. Alfred Adewale Martins; the Bishop of Egba Anglican Diocese, Bishop Emmanuel Adekunle; the Vice-Chancellor of Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago-Iwoye, Prof. Wale Are-Olaitan; former Secretary to the Ogun State Government, Deacon Poju Adeyemi; the Medical Director, Federal Medical Centre (FMC), Abeokuta, Dr. Dapo Sotiloye, among others.
Plaques, cash prizes and gifts were presented to the Awardees, which included an outstanding, Physically-Challenged Student, Mr. Dagunro Emmanuel (With CGPA of 4.32), Outstanding FUNIS Student, Miss Adeleke, Oluwafisayo Temiloluwa, outstanding FUNAAB Staff School Pupil, Miss Adeosun, Tunmise Ayodele and several others.

Last Updated on January 5, 2012 by admin

Leave a Reply