FUNAAB VC Bags OGTV Excellence Award

The Vice-Chancellor of the Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta, Professor Oluwafemi Olaiya Balogun, has added to his haul of accolades, following his investiture into the Ogun state Television Hall of Fame, penultimate Friday.

Professor Balogun prominently featured as one of the distinguished indigenes of Ogun State accorded honours, in recognition of his selfless contribution to broadcasting, the government and people of Ogun State, with particular reference to information, education, entertainment and industrialisation. Professor Balogun emerged as the sole awardee in the education category.

At the award ceremony, the former Nigerian President, Chief Olusegun Obasanjo, former Ogun State Governor, Chief Olusegun Osoba and the Nobel Laureate, Professor Wole Soyinka, bagged Life Time Achievement Awards.

The Deputy Governor, Central Bank of Nigeria, Mr. Tunde Lemo and industrialists in the garb of Otunba Subomi Balogun, Otunba Mike Adenuga, Chief Kesington Adebutu, Chief Olatunde Abudu, among others, were given Special Recognition Award.

Hon. Justice Demola Bakre, Mrs. Tinu Dawodu and Mr. Fabio Lanipekun, as well as Chief Kasimawo Laloko, Chief Segun Odegbami and Mrs. Falilat Ogunkoya, were honoured for their individual contributions to sports development.

Reading his citation, Professor Balogun was reckoned to have through his phenomenal development of FUNAAB, impacted in the socio-economic and educational development of Ogun State and Nigeria at large.

In the citation, the Vice-Chancellor was reputed to have demonstrated “awesome capacity for prudent resource management and fund utilization”, an attribute noted to have turned the Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta, into a model for comparative analysis and benchmarking.

FUNAAB VC, Prof. Oluwafemi Balogun (Right) receiving the award from the Ogun State Comm. for Information, Alh. Yusuph Olaniyonu 

Leave a Reply