2020 TETFund NRF Intervention: VC Harps on Accountability …Presents Letters of Award to Beneficiaries

Published On:

September 17, 2021

Prof. Kolawole Salako, Vice-Chancellor, Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta (FUNAAB) has charged Researchers in the University on the need to be accountable on research grants and other awards approved for them by donors.

The Vice-Chancellor gave this charge while presenting the Letter of Award of Research Grant under the 2020 Tertiary Education Trust Fund (TETFund), National Research Fund (NRF) Intervention to the beneficiaries and Principal Investigators (PIs) in the University

            Presenting the Grants, Prof. Salako commended the Nigerian Government through TETFund for the Award Grant. He tasked the beneficiaries not to trivialise the grant, but take it to heart by executing it to the benefits of those it is meant to serve.

            He harped on the need for accountability while executing the research and accountability on all assignments entrusted into everyone’s hands. The Vice-Chancellor noted that things fail to work when we fail to do the little or big task expected of us.

            Prof. Salako related some human actions to cheer wickedness and total negligence, which most times cripples the system that all are expected to build together.

            Earlier, briefing the Vice-Chancellor and the beneficiaries, the Acting Director, Directorate of Research, Innovations and Partnerships (DRIP), Dr. Mutiu Busari explained to the gathering the rudiments and management of the fund, which according to him, must be transparent.

            The Principal Researchers with their respective project titles are: Prof. Bolanle Akeredolu-Ale, Department of Communication and General Studies: Facework for Mental Health: A Pragma-Linguistic Study of Community/Medical Social Supports in Dealing with Covid-19 and other Life Stressors; Prof. Adebukola Onashoga, Department Computer Science: Plant Doctor: A Mobile-Based Intelligent Plant Disease Diagnostic System and Dr. Oluwasefunmi  Arogundade, Department Computer Science: Pushing for Modern Disruptive Innovation in Aquaculture Monitoring and Controlling System Using IoT and Cloud Analysis.

            Others are, Dr. Olanrewaju Olujimi, Department of Environmental Management and Toxicology: Endocrine Disruptive Chemicals Monitoring and Cancer Risk Assessment of the Periphery of Legacy Landfill Sites Contaminated Groundwater in Southwest Nigeria and Dr. Caroline Akinremi, Department of Chemistry: Novel Heterogeneous Catalyst and Innovative UV-Assisted Reactor Designed for the Treatment of Produced Water from Oil Mining.

            Responding on behalf of the beneficiaries, Prof. Adebukola Onashoga, Dr. Oluwaseyifunmi Arogundade and Dr. Caroline Akinremi promised not to let the University down but take good advantage of the grant.

Last Updated on September 17, 2021 by FUNAAB


More on FUNAAB News

Send Us A Message

Postal Address: P.M.B 2240, Abeokuta, Ogun State, Alabata Road, Abeokuta, Ogun State.
Tel: (+234) 805-5249-564     Email: adekolaha@funaab.edu.ng | examsandrecords@funaab.edu.ng