The Biotechnology Centre was created in the year 2000 and grafted onto the Equipment Maintenance Centre. It has been a fully fledged Centre since 2001. The Centre was established to provide central Biotechnology laboratory facilities for the Colleges in the University. It advices the university on Biotechnological issues and build linkages with relevant external agencies.

The Centre has group of experienced staff comprising of Research Fellows and Technologists. This group carry out their Biotechnology – related projects in the Centre’s laboratory and participate in her courses and other activities.

The Biotechnology Centre has the following specialized laboratories:

  1. Animal Biotechnology Laboratory
  2. Plant Biotechnology Laboratory
  3. Food Biotechnology Laboratory
  4. Bioinformatics Laboratory

The other supporting laboratories attached to the Centre include:

  1. Chemistry Laboratory
  2. Microbiology Laboratory


1. Dr. A.O. Obadina Director +234-805-887-9249;  +234-803-832-4474;
2.  Dr. Oyelakin, O.O. Senior Research Fellow 08051375501
 3.  Dr. Oloyede, A. R. Research Fellow II  08030801514,
4. Mr. Okolie, P.I Research Fellow II 08036619696,
5.  Mr. Oloye, I.O. Chief Laboratory Technologist  08033350074
 6.  Mrs. Agboola, A.K. Principal Laboratory Technologist  08033775514
 7.  Mr. Sorunke, T.O. Senior Technologist  08034097596,
8.  Mr. Akinola, A.O. Snr Scientist 08037217183
9. Mrs. Ojesola, C.O. Laboratory Technologist I 07035234543,
10. Miss Jacob, J.M Laboratory Scientist I 08035094600
 11.  Mrs. Aremu, B.O Principal. Assistant Technologist   07038199411
12.  Mrs. Obanleowo, O.O. Principal. Assistant Technologist  08036255815
13.  Mrs. A.O. Lawale Principal Exec. Officer I (Accts.)  07066050117
14.  Mrs. Jokosenumi, O. A Snr. Secretarial Assistant II  08032387614
15.  Mrs. A.O. Lawale P.E.O. I (Accts)  07066050117
16. Mrs. Fatosin C.O Asst. Chief Clerical Officer 08066376673
 17. Mr. Aliu Driver/

Last Updated on December 16, 2019 by Temiloluwa Awoyele