[vc_row][vc_column width=”2/3″][vc_empty_space height=”76px”][vc_custom_heading text=”Department of Computer Science” font_container=”tag:h3|font_size:34px|text_align:left|color:%232a6d00″ css=”.vc_custom_1579090106507{border-bottom-width: 2px !important;padding-top: 2px !important;padding-bottom: 10px !important;border-bottom-style: solid !important;}”][vc_empty_space height=”26px”][vc_column_text]

The Department of Computer Science was an arm of the then Mathematical Sciences Department established in 1988 at the inception of University of Agriculture, Abeokuta. During the 2005/2006 Session, the Department of Computer Science evolved to become a unique academic division in the production of highly trained graduates and postgraduates in the field of Computer Science.

At present, the Department of Computer Science is the largest in term of student population. The Department offers programmes leading to the award of Bachelors of Computer Science, Master of Science and Doctor of Philosophy degrees in Computer Science. In addition, the Department also runs programmes leading to the award of Postgraduate Diplomas in Computer Science and Master of Information Communication and Technology.

Staff members of the Department are in the forefront in the recent areas of computer research work. This has enabled her to produce quality graduates who are now occupying various positions in banks, industries and private phone companies.

[/vc_column_text][vc_empty_space height=”20px”][vc_column_text]



The programme is designed to give students the opportunity to obtain a broad knowledge in both theory and practice of computer science. Students will be trained to write programs for solving different problems. Such training will lead to the production of skill manpower that is adequately furnished with the current and comprehensive knowledge of computer science as well as information and communication technology.

[/vc_column_text][vc_column_text]The objectives of the B.Sc. degree in Computer Science are to:

[/vc_column_text][rt_list_style list_icon_test=”ab9dab4c-feeb-8″]

  1. carry out research work in any field of computer science;
  2. write programs that will be needed in any sector of the economy;
  3. provide students with a solid foundation in computer science and knowledge that are required for postgraduate studies and research;
  4. provide timeless service to industries, banking and other sectors;
  5. meet the challenges of modern day information technology.

[/rt_list_style][/vc_column][vc_column width=”1/3″][vc_empty_space height=”20px”][vc_custom_heading text=”Our Department” font_container=”tag:h3|font_size:34px|text_align:left|color:%232a6d00″][rt_menu_style nav_menu=”Department of Computer Science” extra_class=”side-menu”][/vc_column][/vc_row]

Last Updated on January 15, 2020 by FUNAAB

Leave a Reply