LAGOS—A TWIST has been added to the contest for the vacant stool of the Oba of Lagos as the Olori Omooba who forwarded the list of 11 nominated princes to the Olorogun, Chief T.L. Jinadu-Eko who is the head of the six king makers attached copies of a letter written by the late Oba Adeyinka Oyekan recommending Otunba Adekunle Ojora as a worthy successor to the throne.

In the first official communication by the Olori Omooba, Prince Abdulaziz Ojora to the head of the king makers, Otunba Adekunle Ojora, a popular business man, was the only nominee from Adele Ajosun lineage of the Lagos ruling house.

A source close to the king makers told Vanguard that the attached letter which was a proof of a rumour that the late Oba had endorsed Otunba Ojora as his successor was causing ripples as the king makers could not immediately decide what weight to attach to the letter dated July 5, 1989 and addressed to the king makers, Idejo chiefs, the royal ruling houses and the government and statutory authorities of Lagos state.

The late Oba’s words: “In pursuance of the declaration to the succession to the throne of Oba of Lagos which I have duly executed, I hereby declare that having consulted all concerned, I am satisfied in every historical detail that our dear Royal Son, Otunba Adekunle Ojora is a member of the Akinsemoyin Ruling House as well as two others.”

The royal communication added that: “I therefore voluntarily declare and recommend Otunba Adekunle Ojora as a worthy and fitting Prince of the Royal Houses to ascend to the Throne of Lagos.” Oba Adeyinka Oyekan who ascended the throne on May 11, 1965, urged all the ruling houses to accept Otunba Ojora. in the interest of the peace and harmony of the ruling houses.

With the latest action taken by the Olori Omooba, all the 11 nominated princes are looking forward to the decision of the king makers who may soon invite them for discussion.

The 11 nominees are Aremo Fola Pearse and Prince Kola Balogun from the Esinlokun lineage and Prince Ademuyiwa Dosunmu from the Akitoye lineage.

Others who were validly nominated were Otunba Adekunle Ojora from the Adele Ajosun lineage, Prince Sammy Adebiyi from the Shadeko branch, Prince Rasheed Modile from the Jolasun branch and Prince Tajudeen Olusi from the Aina Egbe branch of the Akinsemoyin lineage. He also got concurrent nomination from the Olusi and Akinsemoyin lineage.

From the Gbosebi branch of the same Akinsemoyin lineage, Prince Adetutu Oladipo Eko and Prince Monsur Akinola Williams from the Amore Olukokun Branch of the same Akinsemoyin lineage. A retired Deputy Inspector General of Police, Prince Rilwan Tunde Akiolu is one of the two nominees of the Akiolu lineage. The other nominee is Prince Kwam Alade Zaid.

An analysis of the nominations shows that five of the 11 nominees came from various branches of the Akinsemoyin house, two from the Akiolu house, two from Esinlokun and one each from the Akitoye and Adele Ajosun.


Full Text


Last Updated on April 8, 2019 by admin

Leave a Reply